4 stars

I was lucky enough to receive an ARC of this book from the publisher through a goodreads giveaway. My first impression was a bit of coverlove. I think the cover design is really eye-catching and appealing (although why a sun design instead of a heart?). The synopsis had me intrigued and I bumped it up my tbr list because I was really interested to see what the story was like.

I was not disappointed. It was thoroughly enjoyable and easy to devour. It is quite a short and easy read (I read it in one evening). The plot meanders along at a slow and steady pace.

The story is about Adam and his family. After suffering the loss of his grandfather, the recipient of his donated heart comes into their life quite unexpectedly. I loved that it seemed like it was the heart bringing William walking to that door. Each member of the family has their own quirk (mums inability to cry and truly grieve, Adams compulsive notetaking and scribbles, Farah’s muteness). I enjoyed that aspect. My only complaint is that, at times, the characters seemed a little one dimensional. I would have liked to have seen a little more depth and character development.

Some of the side characters seemed superfluous. I would have preferred it stuck to the family unit and developed them more.

At its core, this book is about grief, healing, and the meaning of family. I like that it highlights that family does not always come to you in the conventional form. There were hints as to the faith of the characters, I think that it should have been either highlighted or just left out – as it was, it felt unimportant.

I loved the art aspect of the story and found that feature compelling – I’d love to glimpse inside that notebook. And the addition of the little heart facts between chapters was pretty cool.

Overall, an engaging and heart-warming tale.

