Gosh May is gone already…. slow down please!

This month is a very short read list for me because i finally plucked up enough courage to tackle one big brutal beast of a book (A Little Life). It took me a lot longer than the average book to read so it is a brief wrap up this month.Here are the books i discovered in May.

TOBM The Tao of Bill Murray by Gavin Edwards – 3 stars – it was lighthearted and funny but not as hilarious as I was expecting.

SAA Swallows and Amazons by Arthur Ransome-  5 stars – loved it. How did I never hear of this book series growing up? It is a wonderful adventure.

HUG The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas – 4 stars – an important work.

CLiff Cliff by Bailey Bradford (Leopard Spots book 12) – 3 stars – it was a decent instalment but it didn’t totally captivate me.

GT Guilt Trip by Kasey Edwards – 4 stars – a competition win for me that I really enjoyed.

mer Updrift by Errin Stevens (The Mer Chronicles book 1) – 3 stars – It was okay. I found the female lead to be insipid and weak though.

VP1 Run With the Moon by Bailey Bradford (Valens Pack book 1) – 3 stars – an enjoyable MM novella.

PW The Paris Wedding by Charlotte Nash – 3 starts – an ARC I received from the publisher. It was okay but I have to admit these types of stories have never held much appeal to me.

IMBM.jpg Ill Met By Moonlight by Stanley W Moss – 3.5 stars – It was good. A little dry, but perhaps I was just not in the right mood for this type of read.

WTNC When the Night Comes by Favel Parrett – 5 stars – Brilliant. A great Australian tale. Definitely one of my go-to authors now.

ALL1 A Little Life by Hanya Yanigihara – 5 sobbing stars – heartbreaking. Beautiful. Transformative. Masterpiece.

After finally finishing A Little Life i need to go quietly sob in a corner somewhere. I definitely have to find myself a light easy read to fill my head as i am sure Jude and Willem will be occupying space for quite some time. If you haven’t read this book yet go get it. I always find it strange that we find books that completely destroy us but then we tell everyone they must go out and read it. Do we want everyone else to suffer like we have? It is a work of genius though, so well worth the pain.

Did you discover any new and wonderful stories in May? Tell me about them.

 

 

