How was your April? I hope you had a good one. I had a big scary milestone birthday that half my family forgot so mine didn’t go so well. But… the books of April did not let me down.

I managed 20 books this month (a good portion were novellas though). The standouts for me were: Six of Crows, 13 Reasons Why, and Traitor to the Throne. Although, i also have to mention the wonderful ARC I received of the book To Become A Whale due out in June. Well worth checking out. Below is the wrap up of all the wonderful tales I discovered in April.

TTTT.jpg Traitor to the Throne by Alwyn Hamilton – Rebel of the Sands Book 2 – 5 Stars – I actually preferred this sequel to the first book. It had more depth and action. I love Jin, and his brothers are all complex and interesting characters. Looking forward to the next instalment.

WBM You are Wonderfully and Beautifully Made by Lola Brooks – 3 stars – it was a competition win for me. A cute kids story, but I am not a fan of the religious element.

gilbert.jpg Gilbert by Bailey Bradford – Leopard Spots Book 5 – 3 stars – A solid instalment in the m/m shapeshifter series.

FTW.jpg From the Wreck by Jane Rawson – 3 stars – Another competition win – it was a compelling read but I failed to connect to any of the characters, and the alien aspect was not my kind of story.

esa Esau by Bailey Bradford – Leopard Spots Book 6 – 3 stars – I liked the characters in this instalment and it continues the story well.

BAWlge To Become a Whale by Ben Hobson – 5 stars – I received an ARC of this book from the publisher. Absolutely loved it.  Destined to become an Australian modern classic.

sullivan Sullivan by Bailey Bradford – Leopard Spots Book 7 – 2 stars – it was okay, but not nearly as interesting as previous instalments – plus I really don’t like Sullivan’s mate at all.

MITHC.jpg The Man in the High Castle by Philip K Dick – 4 stars – my modern classic selection for April. It was very different to what I was expecting, but well written and plotted.

wesley Wesley by Bailey Bradford – Leopard Spots Book 8 – 3 stars – I like seeing more of the shaman, and the characters were more compelling.

13Rw13 Reasons Why by Jay Asher – 5 stars – absolutely loved it. Captivating from start to finish. But i do think it needs to be released with a new cover as i walked past this one a hundred times before picking it up after a recommendation. It needs a more engaging cover.

nisch.jpg Nischal by Bailey Bradford – Leopard Spots Book 9 – 2 stars – it was okay, but it felt disjointed at the start as it has nothing to do with the packs from previous instalments in the series, and it didn’t seem to fit into that world at all until the end.

SOC Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo – 5 stars – a completely compelling world that you cannot help but get swept up in. Looking forward to seeing more Kaz and Inej soon.

The Song of the Wolf by Nalini Singh – 5 stars – a great short story complementing the Psy Changeling Series. Featuring Hawke. Can be found in her April newsletter.

ILHL The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks by Rebecca Skloot – 4 stars – a fascinating medical biography.

justice Justice by Bailey Bradford – Leopard Spots Book 10 – 3 stars – a solid instalment, but i did feel like it finished just as it was really getting interesting between them. Feels unfinished.

SL The Strange Library by Haruki Murakami – 5 stars – a strange little book. Devourable.

1001.jpg 1001 Books to Read Before You Die by Peter Boxall – 4 stars – it is a good reference book but i feel like it’s impossible to release one of these books without everyone who reads it disagreeing on some books and adamant that others should have been included. I was no exception.

sabin.jpg Sabin by Bailey Bradford – Leopard Spots book 11 – 3 stars – an action packed instalment. My only complaint is that after the kidnapping it is basically all over with in a couple of paragraphs. It feels like that should have had more drama and taken longer to resolve.

slg.jpg Strange Little Girls by Various Authors – 3 stars – A solid collection of strange little stories.

mbm Marked by Midnight by Lara Adrian – Midnight Breed book 11.5 – 4 stars – a great action packed instalment in one of my favourite vampire romance series.Could have had more heat to it though.

YB You are a Badass by Jen Sincero – 4 stars – a fun and light motivational book.

 

Do you have some great books lined up for May? I am starting a book called The Tao of Bill Murray. I also hope to read at least one classic fiction and one non-fiction along with my usual novellas and a few fantasy thrown in. Maybe i’ll even be brave enough to start A Little Life that has been taunting me from the shelf all year!

Wishing you all a great month of reading ahead. May May bring you many adventures (both fictional and actual).

 

 

