5 stars

Title: High Season

Author: Jessica Whitman

Book 1 in The Polo Season series

Review:

Firstly I would like to thank the publisher for a promotional copy of this book.
I loved High Season!!!
Riveting, entrancing, a little bit racy, a little bit sweet all rolled into one glorious sporting package.
Sweet and lovely country vet Georgia Fellowes gets thrown into the glamorous and elite world of polo courtesy of her best friend and his need for relationship advice. A world filled with money, luxury, gorgeous thoroughbreds and equally gorgeous men. Amongst this powerful set of people she meets Alejandro – from a truly thoroughbred family line of polo royalty, he and his family and team need to win the seasons biggest tournament or their business might be done and dusted. Doing everything he can to ensure that he is at the top of his game and avoiding all distractions he really doesn’t need the complication of the sweet pretty diversion, doctore Fellowes.
I must admit that I did not expect to like this book as I am not usually a fan of books centred around sport, but this book had me from page 1 and I absolutely loved it.
Rippling with sexual tension and sparks from the get go. Alejandro is the perfect mix of broody and brash, with a bit of wounded heart thrown in for good measure. Georgia is a breath of fresh air in a world filled with such plastic vapid women who seek nothing more than the thrill of the chase and a fat bank book. I love that she made him buy Sugar for Temper. That was adorable. I was surprised to find that his family knew who her mother was and knew, more importantly, where she was.
I was a little mad at Alejandro for how he acted before arriving at the hospital, even though I understand his fears, it was a little cruel and heartless. I love that Valentina tells him to “go get her papi”. Touchingly tender and sweet at the end. 
I devoured this book and my only complaint is that it ended. I want more of Georgia and Alejandro. Thank you Allen & Unwin for introducing me to an addictive new series but now

 

Goodreads Synopsis:


World-renowned polo player and global face of Ralph Lauren, Nacho Figueras dives into the world of scandal and seduction with a new fiction series set in the glamorous, treacherous world of high-stakes polo competition.

Georgia never wanted to be a jetsetter. A plain old country vet was fine for her. But one distress call from her best friend and the next thing she knows she’s neck deep in the world of polo’s most elite international players–complete with designer dresses, fine champagne and some of the most gorgeous thoroughbreds she’s ever seen. Some of the most gorgeous men too…

Alejandro Del Campo needs his team to win the season’s biggest polo tournament or else he’s not sure how much longer they’re going to be in business. What he doesn’t need is some sassy new vet telling him how to run his business–and distracting him at every turn. But as they come closer and closer to the championship match, it soon becomes clear that Alejandro wants to win Georgia just as much as the tourney trophy. But can he ever convince her his world is where she truly belongs?

