5 stars

Review:

There is the occasional book that is destined to devastate the reader. This is one of those books. Heartbreaking! A whirlwind of emotions packed into a fantastically well written story. I loved every heart wrenching moment of it.

Will was a man of action, living a full throttle life when an accident takes away not only his physical and active lifestyle, but also his desire to continue living. Lou is a girl that is a little trapped without even seeing it, stuck in a stale relationship, living a little life. Lou has just lost her job and with the burden of being the main breadwinner in the family she is desperate to find employment. Even though she has no experience as a carer, she is hired by Will’s mother to undertake the mammoth and, it seems, impossible task of cheering Will up and restoring his determination to live.

Will is intractable and snarky as one would expect from someone going through his situation. Lou is veritably chatty and attempts to get him out of his funk and engaging with the world again.

It is a terribly sad and, at times, touchingly sweet tale that had me hooked from the get go.

I love the wedding dancing scene. The repartee is witty and clever and at times chuckle-worthy. The beach holiday is beautiful and touching.

The story for me really highlights just how much the able bodied take for granted on a daily basis – not just the basic acts of showering yourself or being independent, working, cooking, dressing, but the little things that are actually so much bigger than you would think – like basic general affection. Everyone needs physical affection even if it is just as simple as a hug or holding hands – I like when she shaves him and gives him a haircut – it feels sweetly intimate without being sexual. The isolation Will must feel almost seems worse than the physical condition of his body.

But without giving too much away I have to say WTF Jojo??? The Switzerland thing makes me want to smack the author – she clearly didn’t get the memo that sweet romances are meant to end with “…and they lived happily ever after… the end!” Not this. Never this. Rip a readers heart out and squish it til it pops why don’t you.

I am rarely ever moved to tears by a book, but this book made me cry….. ugly cry. It left me with a gaping hole. I had to start another book immediately just to try and get something else in my head but it didn’t work. Will is still in my thoughts and I am still wrecked from this book. Fair warning…. This book will leave any reader with a heart devastated. There is a sequel… that means there was meant to be a happy ending with Will and Lou!

Any author that can move a reader to absolute devastation and tears has to be good! I am a little scared, but I will have to read more from this author – I’ll just have to ensure I am emotionally prepared and bring tissues just in case.

Goodreads Synopsis:

Lou Clark knows lots of things. She knows how many footsteps there are between the bus stop and home. She knows she likes working in The Buttered Bun tea shop and she knows she might not love her boyfriend Patrick.

What Lou doesn’t know is she’s about to lose her job or that knowing what’s coming is what keeps her sane.

Will Traynor knows his motorcycle accident took away his desire to live. He knows everything feels very small and rather joyless now and he knows exactly how he’s going to put a stop to that.

What Will doesn’t know is that Lou is about to burst into his world in a riot of colour. And neither of them knows they’re going to change the other for all time.

