Happy New Year everyone… Have you made any New Years Resolutions? I have made a few, mostly health related, but one of them is book related. I am determined that this year I will make an effort to finally knock off some of those dusty old classics from my TBR shelf. So my first book of the year is the one that has been on the shelf unread the longest – Wuthering Heights. Does anyone else have books on their shelf that they have had for years and just never gotten around to reading?

Here is my wrap up for January.

wh  Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte – 5 stars – I was not expecting to like this. Beautifully written, wonderfully dark and gothic, artfully atmospheric. Although I could not understand a word Joseph was saying!

FWD.jpg Flirting with Desire books 1-4 by Lucia Jordan – 2 stars – Jordans books really seem to be hit or miss. I either love them or are indifferent. This one fell flat for me.

tbh Tommy and How He Became a Hero by Desi Lu – 3 stars – A competition win. It was well illustrated and the idea behind the story was good but I didn’t enjoy the delivery.

hp The Happiness Project by Gretchen Rubin – 4 stars  – an interesting experiment. Not quite what I was expecting but I enjoyed it very much. Rubins writing style is very engaging.

3013 Primal.jpg 3013: Primal by Laurie Roma – 4 stars – 3013 book 13 – another steamy addition to the sci-fi romance series. I kind of hope this series just goes on forever.

hg Hartley’s Grange by Nicole Hurley-Moore – 3 stars – a competition win. It was a light and sweet read, but I found it a tad repetitive.

wbba When Breath Becomes Air by Paul Kalanithi – 5 stars – intelligent, heartbreaking, beautiful.A must read.

dam Darker After Midnight by Lara Adrian – 4 stars –Midnight Breed Book 10 – another adrenaline packed instalment in this vampire romance series.

icjp I Can Jump Puddles by Alan Marshall – 3 stars – Not as good as I was expecting, but it was still an enjoyable classic.

adulting.jpg Adulting by Kelly Williams Brown –  3 stars – It was okay. Light and humourous.

aoh Allegiance of Honour by Nalini Singh – 5 stars – Psy-Changeling Series book 15 – Nalini can do no wrong. I adore this series. Loved being back with my Dark River and Snow Dancer boys (and some of the Psy ones too).

ttl To the Lighthouse by Virginia Woolfe – 3 stars – okay… so there was the occasional sentence that leapt out at me, but I just could not love it. I know it is supposed to be a masterpiece we all love, but I found it a little taxing and dull at times. On the upside… new year resolution in action, third dusty classic of the year.

ida Ida by Alison Evans – 3 stars – proof copy competition win. It is fast paced and an interesting concept. I would have liked to see it fleshed out a bit more. Also I am not sure if there is a sequel in the works, but if not, an epilogue would have been good.

PIL4.jpg Panic in Level 4 by Richard Preston – 2 stars – disappointing. The title makes you think it is about level 4 viruses or the labs that deal with them but it is really just a collection of stories about various branches of science (only one relating to level 4).

fc Farm City by Novella Carpenter – 4 stars – more a personal journey than a practical guide but very enjoyable and entertaining.

iot The Invasion of the Tearling by Erika Johansen – 5 stars – Queen of the tearling book 2. Utterly compelling. Adored every word of it. Left me hanging though – need book 3.

lc The Lonely City: Adventures in the Art of Being Along by Olivia Laing – 3 stars – Not at all what I thought it was. I assumed it was a bio about a persons experiences being alone in a big city but instead it was more like a book about art history. Still enjoyable for the content but the title and cover were a little misleading.

pendukum Pendulum by Adam Hamdy – 4 stars – gripping and atmospheric.  Definitely one to make the film makers salivate.

dd Double Dissolution by Zachariah Lee – 3 stars – it was funnier than I expected. I must admit I am not a fan of political tales, but the interwoven story was quite entertaining.

tmb The Memory Book by Lara Avery – 5 stars – a gorgeous YA book. Loved it.

pluto.jpg Plutocrats by Chrystia Freeland – 3 stars – A good solid work on economics. I was hoping for more of an indepth look at the lives of plutocrats (as the title suggests). This is more a book about world economics and the shifts that are generating the plutocrats.

mam Mischief and the Masters by Cherise Sinclair – 4 stars – Masters of the Shadowlands book 12 – another steamy as hell romance from one of my favourite auto-buy romance authors. My only complaint is that I have run out of Sinclair books to read now.

22 books to start off the year. Not a bad beginning. I hope I can keep up the momentum. Along with resolving to read some of my dusty old classics, i have also decided to add at least one non-fiction per month which could slow my reading time down slightly. There was a time when i only ever read non-fiction. I felt if i wasn’t learning something there was no point in reading it. But then after 7 years of only non fiction i think my brain got tired and i picked up a fantasy book and i was reminded how important imagination and fantasy is. Now i try to balance the two out, but lately there have been so many fabulous fiction books i have found it hard to enjoy my non fiction reads. Hopefully i will find more balance in 2017 in all areas of life, including my read list.

