OOPS… I totally forgot to do my august wrap up. That month got away from me! It’s really late but here it is anyway.

I managed to knock 26 books off the list in August, but a few of those were tiny little novellas (is that cheating?). Hope you all had a great month of great reads. Here is the list….

GOIS2.jpg  The Girl of Ink and Stars by Kiram Hargrave Millwood – 4 stars – a lovely ya fantasy read. Prettiest cover design I’ve seen in a while.

dm The drowned Man by James Brendan Murray – 4 stars – captivating Australian true crime/military history story

tt The Tailor by Leigh Bardugo – 4 stars – short story from the Grisha series

rb The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater – 3 stars – enjoyable, but i expected more from this one.

Bumped.jpg Bumped by Megan McCafferty – 2 stars – it was okay but I found myself growing bored

bp1 The Back Passage by James Lear – 3 stars – great Victorian mystery with a bit of sauciness thrown in

HP1.jpg Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by JK Rowling – 4 stars – it was fantastic as expected by it lost a star for me just because of the format. I would have far preferred a novel over a play.

mod Meredith Out of the Darkness by Amanda Gale – 3 stars – an enjoyable read – I am looking forward to the sequels.

NMFS.jpg Not My Fathers Son by Alan Cumming – 5 stars – by far the most enjoyable celebrity bio I’ve read in years.

GUN.jpg The Gunslinger by Stephen King – 4 stars – dark and broody and super weird as expected from king. I found it a little difficult to warm to at first, but I am suitably intrigued and will be looking for the sequels.

snSuburban Nightmare by Emily Webb – 3 stars – a chilling collection of Australian true crime stories

SOA.jpg The Science of Appearances by Jacinta Holloran – 3 stars – it was a pleasant read but failed to totally captivate me.

S&S.jpg Siege and Storm by Leigh Bardugo – 4 stars – another compelling instalment in the Grisha series. Will the darkling redeem himself? I hope so.

LK.jpg The Little Knife by Leigh Bardugo – 3 stars – short story complementing the grisha series.

tcf The Too Clever Fox by Leigh Bardugo – 3 stars – another short story in the grisha series

DIW.jpg The Demon in the Wood by Leigh Bardugo  – 4 stars – I liked this short story in the grisha series the best so far.

SPLAFS.jpg The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight by Jennifer E Smith – 4 stars – a super cute ya romance novel.

EOE1.jpg The Edge of Eternity by Ken Follett – 5 stars – I finally knocked this brick of a book off the tbr pile. 1000+ pages of awesomeness as Mr Folletts works always are.

jb The Jungle Book by Rudyard Kipling – 4 stars – I can’t believe I never got around to reading this one as a kid. But better late than never.

pts Past the Shallows by Favel Parrett – 5 stars – a fantastic debut novel by an austrlaian author I will be eagerly watching for more from.

lp A Little Princess by France Hodgson Burnett  – 5 stars – I had no idea that the author of one of my favourite childrens books had other works out there to discover. Loved it.

A&D.jpg Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Saenz – 5 stars – longest title of the year award but an absolute gem of a book. Adored it.

AFL.jpg A Fortunate Life by Albert B Facey – 3 stars – another childrens classic I had never gotten around too. It was okay but I found some parts a little dull.

doc Dreaming of Chanel by Charlotte Smith – 3 stars – while the illustrations are gorgeous and the stories interesting, I would have preferred photos of the actual garments.

wsc A Wild Sheep Chase by Haruki Murakami – 4 stars – not his most engaging work but still wonderfully weird and mildly brilliant.

fearless Fearless by Fiona Higgins – 3 stars – An enjoyable Austrlaian read but it didn’t totally hook me in.

 

How many books did you get though in August? Any that you loved and would tell everyone to read? Hope you are having a fabulous month of reading this September so far…

