4 stars

** spoiler alert ** An engrossing read that is filled with intrigue. I love that I didn’t quite know where the story was going. At first with the superstitions and black dog dreams I was thinking werewolf tale, then I thought perhaps Adam had done a runner, and then I thought murder was probable. It definitely kept me guessing.
Visually enthralling descriptive text that creates such a sense of atmosphere, you almost feel as if you have seen the places and people before.
I really feel for Grace’s situation. Her quietly festering frustration becomes quite palpable as the story progresses. Meredith and her family are a great set of characters. The family is so fraught with secrets and it is almost in a whisper that they are slowly uncovered, usually casting suspicion on just about every member of the family. I even suspected Ben of being involved, although I am very glad he wasn’t.
I was slightly devastated at Adams fate – all I could think of was that he didn’t die on impact, so how long did he suffer in pain while waiting for someone to help him, not to mention the worry he must have felt knowing his child was alone? So sad. The story has a great solid ending that neatly ties up all the loose ends and remaining questions. I love the idea that Grace decides to holiday in Australia to visit Ben. Even though I know they are fictional characters I was caught hoping they ended up together. I will be looking forward to reading more work from this author in the future.

 

Goodreads Synopsis:

HOW DO YOU BEGIN TO MOVE ON WHEN THE PAST WON’T LET YOU GO?

When Grace’s husband, Adam, inherits a cottage on the isolated North Yorkshire moors, they leave London behind to try a new life. However, a week later, Adam vanishes, leaving their baby daughter on the doorstep.

The following year, Grace returns to the tiny village of Roseby. She is desperate for answers, but it seems the slumbering village is unwilling to give up its secrets. As Grace learns more about the locals and the area’s superstitions and folklore, strange dreams begin to trouble her. Are the villagers hiding something, or is she becoming increasingly paranoid? Only as snowfall threatens to cut them off from the rest of the world does Grace begin to understand how close the threat lies, and that she and her daughter may be in terrible danger if she cannot get them away in time.

