5 GIANT STARS

I was unable to put this book down til the very end.
For those who have yet to read this book I would advise that you read the awesome novella prequels first. It is not exactly necessary, but it gives some great background details about Celeana and how she ended up where she was at the beginning of this book. Also I think it is good to have the earlier stories details about how she became an assassin and her training, not to mention the people in her life, like Sam. That being said, they are not required reading in order to perfectly love this book.
As I had already read the prequels I was excited to continue on Celeanas journey. I love the introduction of Chaol and, of course, Dorian. Ah another literary Dorian for me to fall in love with.
The competition element was enthralling (will Nox make a reappearance in later novels?), and I liked the element of fantasy that was brought into this novel with the Wyrdmarks and magic.
I am intrigued to see where this goes. Can’t wait for the next book, I must go out straight away and buy it!
The only complaint is that she puts distance between her and Dorian. I was waiting and waiting for them to get together:-(
Will the king send him into battle to toughen him up? Will Celeana be sent to kill innocents for the nasty king? Will Dorian be forced to marry some horrid court lady, or goddess forbid… Kaltain? Please not that… anything but that!
The writing is thoroughly engaging, it is impossible not to become invested in the characters. Plenty of intrigue and lots of action.

Goodreads Synopsis:

Meet Celaena Sardothien.
Beautiful. Deadly.
Destined for greatness.

In the dark, filthy salt mines of Endovier, an eighteen-year-old girl is serving a life sentence. She is a trained assassin, the best of her kind, but she made a fatal mistake: she got caught.

Young Captain Westfall offers her a deal: her freedom in return for one huge sacrifice. Celaena must represent the prince in a to-the-death tournament—fighting the most gifted thieves and assassins in the land. Live or die, Celaena will be free. Win or lose, she is about to discover her true destiny. But will her assassin’s heart be melted?

