4.5 stars

Book 1 in the Wild Hunt Legacy series

Review:

I loved loved loved it. Cherise can do no wrong. Even though this is a totally different genre to her other books it is just as enthralling as her other works.
Paranormal romance is one of my favourite genres and I love shifters so I am usually a little fussy about these stories but Cherise managed to sweep me away into a wonderful world filled with intriguing and compelling characters and story development. She certainly knows how to write super-hot alpha men.
I love that Alec and Calum are so different but both equally alluring. I am a little more drawn to Alec with his more fun and carefree manner and sweet little gestures. But Calum is equally appealing even though he is super dominant and commanding.
Jamie is just plain adorable. Vicki is badass and I love that Cherise writes female leads that are strong and sassy not simpering little waifs. I can’t quite bring myself to call her Vic though – that makes me think of big truck drivers with grease stains on their clothes and a beer in hand.
Swane is the perfect i-hate-him bad guy. I like the twist with Wells toward the end…. But…. With the whole reciprocity thing I think after what the boys assumed and the way they acted some serious grovelling was required, followed by some big gesture to fix the balance.
I kind of wish that Cleavage and ice queen got a bit more of a serve. They were always all over her men and those men should have been setting them straight not allowing them to rub up against them like it’s nothing – if it was some guy doing that with Vicki they would have ripped their heads off to use as bowling balls so how could they think it was okay the other way around – typical men! I kind of wish she got to put them down. I was expecting a bit more drama there – like the girls ganging up to try and stake their claim and convince her she didn’t belong and should leave. I am glad that Sarah got a good swipe but would have liked more where her and Gretchen were concerned.
Totally different from Ms Sinclair’s other books but just as enchanting and addictive. Am on my way to find book 2 immediately.

Goodreads Synopsis:

As a dedicated covert ops agent, Victoria Morgan follows two rules: accomplish the mission and protect the innocent. When bitten by a werecat—yeah, that was a sucky day—she must investigate beings that shouldn’t exist and are hard as hell to identify. Just how can she tell if a person is human–or an animal-shifter who enjoys Bambi-sized snacks?

During her investigation, she finds a real home and friends for the first time. Sweet, right? But there’s a flip-side: the bad guys are waiting for her to turn into something four-legged with a tail, the shifters suspect her of spying, and she has fallen in love with a pair of Thumper-eating werecougar brothers.

Her duty is to expose their existence. Or she could follow her heart and protect them with all of her deadly skills.

 

