5 stars

Title: RoomHate

Author: Penelope Ward

Review:

** spoiler alert ** Brilliant! Absolutely loved it. It is a romantic drama with a serious amount of angst mixed with a terribly sweet love story. 
I am not usually a fan of second chance romances but this one was quite different to the usual. I love the childhood moments they shared and the fact that they were both in love as teens but too boneheaded to notice the other was too and admit their feelings. Ahhh first love and teen angst – what a combo. 
The writing flows effortlessly and keeps you hooked all the way through. I love that the minute Justin enters the room, even though it has been a decade since all the drama that had her running, it is just like Boom! instant tension that just leaps off the page and smacks you in the face. 
So….. he is there with his girlfriend, which is cause for some awkward moments, and when she goes back to NY for auditions Amelia and Justin have time to reconnect. I love that this didn’t follow the usual pattern of oops we fell into bed together and i just cheated on my girl but i couldn’t resist you rubbish… those stories pi** me off. Justin did the right thing and did not disrespect either Amelia or Jade by cheating. That was refreshing.
Justin was the perfect mix of sexy and broody and even when he was being a juvenile ass it came across less jerky and more cheeky cute. His anger was justified after the way she left but then he was just as much of a boneheaded jerkface by sulking and refusing to talk to her the following year after she came to her senses and tried to apologise.
I wasn’t too keen on the bombshell at the end of part one at first, but as the story progressed it grew on me and i have to admit that Justin with Bea was kind of swoon-worthy. I could just imagine all the women seeing him with Bea singing on stage….their ovaries must’ve been wanting to reach out and grab onto that one. 
I love how crazy jealous he gets every time Amelia has a date even though he had no right to act that way at the time. 
The revisit to the movie theatre was classic. 
Adam was a tool and i am glad he never came back on the scene. 
This book has much less steamy scenes than most of the romances i have read but i have to admit i didn’t even really miss that. The story was engrossing enough on its own and their was plenty of steam between the two of them without adding tons of sex scenes. 
There were times i was a little frustrated at how stupid and stubborn they were both being – so much time wasted. But they got their sh** together in the end. I think it ended well and i like that it didn’t turn into some ongoing series with no end. 
Touchingly sweet and steamy in all the right places. I love Justin Banks (even when he is being a childish angry roommate). Definitely worth picking up and i am glad i moved it up my tbr pile.

Goodreads Synopsis:

Sharing a summer house with a hot-as-hell roommate should be a dream come true, right?

Not when it’s Justin…the only person I’d ever loved…who now hates me.

When my grandmother died and left me half of the house on Aquidneck Island, there was a catch: the other half would go to the boy she helped raise.

The same boy who turned into the teenager whose heart I broke years ago.

The same teenager who’s now a man with a hard body and a hardass personality to match.

I hadn’t seen him in years, and now we’re living together because neither one of us is willing to give up the house.

The worst part? He didn’t come alone.

I’d soon realize there’s a thin line between love and hate. I could see through that smug smile. Beneath it all…the boy is still there. So is our connection.

The problem is…now that I can’t have Justin, I’ve never wanted him more.

Author’s note – RoomHate is a full-length standalone novel. Due to strong language and sexual content, this book is not intended for readers under the age of 18.

