5 stars

Title:  A Court of Thorns and Roses

Author: Sarah J Maas

Review:

OMG…. This book was seriously addictive. Book hangover inducing. Could not put down. Sarah J Maas can do no wrong. I am a huge fan of her Throne of Glass series and this did not disappoint. I am not really a huge admirer of Fairy type stories, but I was enthralled from the very beginning. She has created a captivating world and a cast of complex and enchanting characters. I love Tamlin (even when he is being beastly), and Lucien grew on me over time, I am quite fond of him now. Feyre is another awesome strong and complicated female lead – she writes those well. Amarantha is the perfect amount of evil and scary. My only question mark is Rhysand. I am undecided if I Love/Like/Hate him. There are moments where he seems like a dastardly devilish character. Then he shows a hint of morality and gentleness and I kind of like him for a second. He is mocking and cruel, but then helpful and mildly charming. I think the whole ‘deal’ situation was underhanded, and I am sensing a love triangle in the works. I am intrigued by the tattoo idea (can he see and feel what she is through the eye?). I’d like to smack Luciens brothers a little. The labyrinth/worm challenge was really cool, and the second challenge all kinds of nail-biting terror. As for thr third, well my heart stopped for a beat there. But so clever and twisted! Sarahs writing is so visual that I can picture the whole scene in my mind like a movie. I usually try to read other books in between series instalments but I have a feeling I am going to have to delve straight into book 2 because I have to know what happens next. My one big question is what did Rhysand see? What did he see in her face that made him stumble back and disappear? I have a suspicion… Do tell do tell Ms Maas. Need to know now! This also has to be one of the best covers I have seen recently. Serious cover love.

 

Goodreads Synopsis:

A thrilling, seductive new series from New York Timesbestselling author Sarah J. Maas, blending Beauty and the Beastwith faerie lore.

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it… or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!

Advertisements